top of page

Anita Anand is a Professor of Law and holds the J.R. Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate Governance. She served as Associate Dean from 2007-2009 and since 2010 has served as the Academic Director of the Centre for the Legal Profession and its Program on Ethics in Law and Business. She is a Senior Fellow and member of the Governing Board, Massey College and is cross-appointed to the Rotman School of Management and the School of Public Policy and Governance. She is a scholar in residence at the C.D. Howe Institute.

During the 2009-2010 academic year, Professor Anand was a Visiting Scholar at the Bank of Canada and a Herbert Smith Visitor at the University of Cambridge. In 2005-2006, she was a Canada-U.S. Fulbright Scholar and Visiting Olin Scholar in Law and Economics at Yale Law School. During the Fall 2005, she was a Visiting Lecturer in Law at Yale Law School where she taught comparative corporate governance. In Fall 2017, she was appointed Director of Policy and Research at the Capital Markets Institute, Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto where she also teaches in the Directors' Education Program.

She is the recipient of research grants from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (three awards), the Law Foundation of Ontario, the Foundation for Legal Research (three awards), the Connaught Foundation as well as the Canadian Association of Law Teachers' Scholarly Paper Award (2003). In Fall 2004, she received the Queen's Law Students' Society Award for Excellence in Teaching and in Fall 2006, she and co-authors Frank Milne and Lynnette Purda were awarded the Best Paper in Managerial Finance by the International Journal of Managerial Finance for their empirical research relating to corporate governance. 

In 2015, Professor Anand was appointed by Ontario's Minister of Finance to the Expert Committee to Consider Financial Planning Policy Alternatives. She has conducted research for the Five Year Review Committee, the Wise Person's Committee, the Task Force to Modernize Securities Legislation in Canada and the Commission of Inquiry into the Investigation of the Bombing of Air India Flight 182. She was the inaugural Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission's Investor Advisory Panel (2010-2012) and the president of the Canadian Law and Economics Association (2009-2011). In 2012, she was appointed to the Bertha Wilson Honour Society by the Schulich School of Law for service to the legal profession. Since 2010, she has served on the Chief Justice of Ontario's Advisory Committee on Professionalism. She is the Editor of Canadian Law eJournal, published by the Legal Scholarship Network. Her main research areas relate to the regulation of capital markets with a specific focus on corporate governance, enforcement, capital raising techniques and systemic risk.

Professional History

Faculty of Law, University of Toronto

Full Professor (2012-present); Associate Professor (2007-2012); Associate Dean (2007-2009)


Faculty of Law, Queen’s University

Associate Professor (2003-2006); Assistant Professor (1999-2003)


Yale Law School

Visiting Olin Scholar in Law and Economics (2005-2006) and Visiting Lecturer in Law (Fall 2005)


Faculty of Law, Western University

Assistant Professor (Adjunct) (1997-1999)     


Torys LLP

Associate Lawyer (1994-1997 with leave for LL.M.) and Articling Student (1992-1993)       



Trailblazer Award, Canadian Association of South Asian Lawyers (2013)

Bertha Wilson Honour Society, Schulich School of Law (2012)


Best Paper in Managerial Finance (with L. Purda and F. Milne), Int’l Journal of Managerial Finance (2006)


Canada U.S. Fulbright Scholar Award (2005-2006)


Queen’s Law Students’ Society Excellence in Teaching Award, Queen’s University (Fall 2004)


Canadian Association of Law Teachers’ Scholarly Paper Award (2003)


Wadham College Essay Prize (1990)


Medal in Political Studies, Queen’s University (1989)


Dean's Honour List, Queen’s University (1987-1989)


Provincial Scholarship, Queen’s University (full over four years) (1985-1989)


Governor General's Medal (1985)


​Academic and Professional Appointments



Member, Securities Advisory Committee, Ontario Securities Commission (2018-2021).


Cross-appointed to the Rotman School of Management (Sept. 2017 – present).


Director of Research and Policy, Capital Markets Institute (Sept. 2017-present).


Special Advisor to the Board of the Foundation for Investors’ Rights (FAIR) (Feb 2017-July 2017).

Trustee, Board of Trustees, Canadian Business Law Journal (June 2016-present).

JR Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate Governance (Jan 2016- present).


Member, Ontario’s Expert Panel Reviewing Financial Advisers and Planners (May 2015-Dec. 2016).


Fellow-in-Residence, C.D. Howe Institute, Toronto, Ontario (2014-present).


Editorial Board, Mowat Centre, Toronto, Ontario (2014-present).


Academic Advisory Board, Canadian Coalition for Good Governance (2013-present).


Senior Fellow, Massey College, University of Toronto (2012-present).


Academic Director, Centre for the Legal Profession, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto (2010-present).


Inaugural Chair, Ontario Securities Commission Investor Advisory Panel (2010- 2012).


Visiting Scholar, Bank of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario (2009-2010).


Herbert Smith Visitor, Faculty of Law, Cambridge University (Feb 2010).


Affiliated Scholar, National Centre for Business Law (2008-present).


Researcher for Commission of Inquiry into the Investigation of Bombing of Air India Flight 182 (2006-2007).


Researcher for the Task Force to Modernize Securities Legislation in Canada (2006).


Researcher for Wise Persons’ Committee (federal committee to examine the securities law) (2003).


Researcher for Five-Year Review Committee (committee to review Ontario securities law) (2000-2003).

Boards of Directors and Professional Associations

Board member, Economic Investment Trust (2018-present).

Board member and chair governance committee, Lighthouse for Grieving Children (2017-present).


Board member, Massey College  (2016-present).


Board member, Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc. (2014-2016).


Board member and Corporate Secretary, St. Mildred’s Lightbourn School, Oakville, Ontario (2014-2016).


Board member, Oakville Hospital Foundation (2013-2016).


Chair, Canadian Museum of Hindu Civilization (Dec 2012-2015).


Board member, Canadian Museum of Hindu Civilization (2007-2008, 2012-2015).


Representative, Chief Justice of Ontario Advisory Committee on Professionalism (2010-present).


Member and representative from the University of Toronto Law School, Ontario Bar Association Council (2010-2012).

President (2008-2010) and Vice President (2006-2008) Canadian Law and Economics Association.


Canadian Law and Economics Association; American Law and Economics Association; Law Society of Upper Canada; Canadian Association of Law Teachers (1999-2003); Canadian Bar Association (Ontario), International Law Section (1992-1999).



Securities Regulation


University of Toronto


Business Organizations

Corporate Governance

Prudential Regulation


Dalhousie University



University of Oxford

B.A. and M.A. (Hons Jurisprudence)


Queen's University

B.A. (Hons Political Studies)


Called to the Bar of Ontario

bottom of page